Drink Review #2: Ubermonster

Drink Review #2
Ubermonster
Type: Energy Drink

“bio-activated”

I talked to some friends from church who had tried this beast of a beverage, so I just had to give it a try myself. The bottle is pretty neat looking, and quite frankly intimidating. It sets the bar high for the energy that you expect to get out of it. Getting the lid off will require the services of a bottle opener, and I still had to work at it from two sides. This thing is serious about staying sealed. Leaning in for the aroma, I have to say that it smells a little funky. It has that energy drink smell that I am not crazy about.

First sip impression is good! It’s tasty. I am actually a big fan of how this drink tastes. It reminds me of a standard energy drink, but lacks the harsh acidic bite that a lot of them have. It is more smooth and mellow, and very sweet. Rolling it around on the palate I have to say this is one of the tastiest energy drinks I have ever had. It just keeps getting better. That is very good news, because this thing was $5. I am not kidding. The things I do for my fans.

*some time later, drink finally almost finished*

Ubermonster is no joke. It easily has twice the energy of other energy drinks I have consumed. I still have about 1/4 of it left about 2.5 hours later. So basically it tastes great, it’s smooth without an acidic bite, and I am feeling tons of energy. The price is horrible but that’s really the only negative I can give you.

Lets talk ingredients. This is a standard energy drink but it only has 200 calories for the whole 16.9 ounce glass bottle. That is a lot less than I have seen before. It’s still high, but if you are taking the plunge and doing a full power energy drink it is not bad. There are vitamins and an energy blend to consider as well. For those interested in such information, there are 50g of sugar in the entire bottle and 320 mg of sodium.

Vitamins: 100% of Vitamin B2, B3, B6, and B12.

Active Ingredients: Taurine 2000mg, Panax Ginseng 400mg, Energy Blend 5000mg (Glucose, L-Carnitine, Caffeine, Inositol, Glucuronalactone, Guarana, Reservatrol, Quercetin, Maltodextrin)

I always like it when an energy drink puts guarana AND caffeine in a drink. Even though guarana is just another source of caffeine, I like it! Makes me laugh. “We heard you like caffeine so we put some caffeine in your caffeine so you can zig while you zag!”

Conclusions & Ratings

This thing is delicious, and really delivered on the energy promise. I had very low twitch on it, and it kept me at 100%+ for hours. If you really feel like spending $5 on a rock-solid energy drink, this is definitely the way to go.

Energy Level: 5/5 I haven’t ever had an energy drink amp me up more.
Twitch Factor: 2/5 This is a score you WANT to be low. I had a little nervous energy, but most of it was “clean”.
Flavor: 4/5 This thing was absolutely delicious.
Value: 3/5 Very expensive. I mean, it’s not a huge drink and you are probably going to drink the whole thing in one sitting. Five dollars is a lot to spend on a tasty beverage, but its such a good energy drink that it’s just about worth it.
Overall: 4.5/5 I am giving it 4.5 because I just can’t imagine a better energy drink. I sure haven’t had one. If you like energy drinks, and you want to do a full power one, and you have extra money, give it a shot. Leave comments if you have tried this thing, let me know what you thought.

Leave a Reply

