Restaurant Review #1: Chorizo

I recently went on vacation to Asheville/ Lake Lure, NC with Kevin and his parents. While there, we took in a few restaurants. The inaugural review on the Stephen O Show is of one of these restaurants.

Restaurant Name: Chorizo
Type: Sit-Down
Genre:
 Latin
Meal: Dinner 

We took a walking eating tour of downtown Asheville called “Eating Asheville”. It was awesome. One of the places mentioned (but not visited) was “Chorizo”. Later on that evening, we decided to try it out. A Latin restaurant, it was cozy inside with really good service.

I would like to tell you what I had, but I honestly cannot remember what it was called. It was this huge bowl of salmon, mussels, pineapple, and this unbelievably tasty broth. It came with some accouterments such as tortillas, etc, but I had no idea how to eat it. In the end I just about drank the broth, but was unable to finish this delicious behemoth of a meal.

I can also mention that my friend had the Paella and he said it was amazing. For dessert I had this powerful coffee concoction and a dense chocolate mousse pie. Let me just say this: the service was legit and the food was great.

Price: $$-$$$ (between $10-30 pp)
Deliciousness: 4/5 – 
This was not mexican food (which is delicious, mind you), it was Latin food! It was new and exciting and not the kind of thing I get to eat very often.
Service: 4/5 – I really don’t have anything bad to say about the service, it was quality.
Decor: 3/5 – Honestly I don’t remember it, except that it was decent. I was too focused on the food!
Wow-factor: 4/5 – This place had that special something. i recommend it without reservation.
Overall: 4/5 – If you are in downtown Asheville, you really should check out Chorizo!

Leave a Reply

