Restaurant Review #2: Rain Premier Sushi Bar & Bistro

Woe! Woe is me!

I have been meaning to review Rain for some time, but I had heard that it had really went downhill from several friends so I figured I would give it one more shot before I put my “pen to paper” as it were. I am extremely glad I waited, because this past visit to Rain really matched all I had been hearing.

I do not like doing negative reviews, but I assure you that this is a (summarized) factual account of my recent visit. Kevin and I showed up on a Friday night and the place was a ghost town. There were maybe four tables in the entire restaurant. This is a big red flag, but we were able to get one of the tables with the cushy chairs so I figured hey lets just go with this.

First, the service was poor. I think our server was doing his best, but the entire experience was a comedy of errors. First, our drink order came out wrong. Second, he put our sushi in as one seat, so it came out on one big plate. This is unacceptable, because Kevin hates spicy food. So, it was a big deal (and took over ten minutes) to get our food separated out. I could hear the argument behind the sushi bar about “well you have to put it in separately if you want it to come out separately”.

Once we received our food, I was missing some of the food I had ordered. Turns out, one of the sushi rolls I ordered was never put into the computer. Once it did come out, and we began to eat, we discovered that the sushi was bland and tasteless. All in all, a thoroughly disappointing experience. Another one onto the ban list, and its sad because Rain used to be overpriced but delicious. Now it’s just overpriced.

Price: $$$+ (you are probably spending $30+ per person)
Deliciousness: 1/5 – 
Bland, unexciting food that tasted like… nothing
Service: 1/5 – Horrible. Just absolutely horrible. I did still tip well of course! No excuse for not tipping.
Decor: 3/5 – The Decor in rain is cool, I liked looking at the fish. One of them glowed in the black light. The shining star in the bleak experience, as it were.
Wow-factor: N/A Hahahahaah no.
Overall: 1/5 – If you want Sushi, allow me to point you to Sakura in Germantown. That place is the bomb. Sekisui is also a fine choice, and many people love Osaka.

Leave a Reply

