Entry #2 – Fentiman’s Dandelion and Burdock Soda

Welcome to the cross-blog Stephen O  Follow both if you like reading my words, or something.

Today on the Stephen O Show I am reviewing Fentiman’s Dandelion and Burdock Soda. Now, you may be asking yourself, what the heck is that? That is an excellent question, and one that I really still don’t know the answer to. I mean, I know that, to quote Wikipedia:

Dandelion and burdock is a beverage consumed in the British Isles since the Middle Ages. It was originally a type of light mead, but over the years has evolved into the non-alcoholic soft drink commercially available today.[1] Traditionally it was made from fermented dandelion (Taraxacum officinale) and burdock (Arctium lappa) roots.

source

I saw it while hunting for Guarana Antarctica at the farmers market on a tip from my buddy Jared. I did find that, and I rejoiced mightily, but I figured while there might as well get a couple of other drinks to review for the Stephen O Show.

Packaging

The stuff looks great. Font choices are excellent, it really does look like an old timey soda, although I must admit the phrase ‘Fermented Botanical Dandelion’ is not particularly appetizing (to me, anyway).

Aroma

This stuff smells a little like flowers, and a little like cough syrup. However, not like the super nasty cough syrup. Just the regular nasty cough syrup, but slightly more pleasant than that.

First Taste

Austin and I had the same initial reaction when tasting this soda. My taste buds just did not know what to do with it! I tasted dandelion and something else I have never tasted before (must be the burdock), but I also had a hint of… licorice! No!

I just cannot stand black licorice, and it is definitely one of the tasting notes in this beverage. Thankfully, it is a minor tasting note and I was able to get past it.

Taste Review

As I continued to drink this thing, every time I would go for a sip I would have to psych myself up. Not that it was horrible, but that it really tastes… alien to me. I have honestly never experienced any flavor like this in my life. The more I drank it, the flavor did improve but I would not go so far as to say that I actually am excited about picking up another one of these from the fridge and popping the cap.

You know what it was like? Overall, it was like drinking lightly sweetened dandelion flavored cough syrup with a touch of licorice. The dandelion flavor was prominent, and this drink was barely sweet at all. I think that what really got me was the aftertaste. It was medicinal and faintly unpleasant (to me). If you are big into botanical, I think you might actually like it.

Conclusion and Rating

Let me be fair here: these are dang interesting. They are weird but they are interesting! The flavor is bizarre but if you need a break from the norm or if you like cough syrup, licorice, and eating flowers, then this drink may be for you!

You can find this beverage at the . There are more Fentiman’s flavors. Oh goodie for me…

Rating: 2 out of 5 soda bottles

I just can’t get past that aftertaste like I just chewed up some licorice tinged dandelions and then hit that ‘tussin.

See you later today on  for the second part of my Mega Season 2014 intro post!

Leave a Reply

