Entry #17 – Dyer’s Cafe

It has been said that I enjoy the finer things in life. This is true. That being said, I would also point out that a burger fried in super old grease can also be one of those finer things, if done properly. Dyer’s does it properly.

We started out with some of the best fried pickles I have ever had in my life. Truly, I get these things wherever I go but Dyer’s hit a home run with the breading, perfect seasoning, and a glorious ranch for dipping.

My friends both got bacon cheeseburgers, with which they were very pleased. I was, however, determined to be in ‘review mode’ and try out the Filthy Diablo, which I have not had in over a decade… It was amazing, but too much. Way too much.

Meat, cheese, smoked sausage, meat, cheese, smoked sausage, meat, cheese… I am not exaggerating! This thing is so big and juicy and delicious that while you may not defeat it, you will at least feel good about the experience. I managed to finish the filthy diablo, although I did eat the last smoked sausage portion separately.

Since I feel like this review is all over the place, allow me to summarize: perfect fried pickles, juicy and succulent burger, melty cheese, snappy and savory sausage, excellent sweet tea. In short, a superb experience.

Why, then, is this not a five star review? The service was pretty bad. It was worth it, though.

*****Update: I went back to Dyer’s again since I wrote this review, and the experience was even better. This time I got the 4×4 (see my IG for a great photo of its magnificence) and wow. Just wow. Aces!

Price: $-$$
Value: High. I don’t see how you can’t get full on these burgers.
Service: 2/5-3/5 – good days and bad days. on the good days your bill is right!
Decor: meh. nothing to write home about, but I like the Dyer’s sign
Overall: 4/5 – unless you are a vegetarian/vegan, you have no reason not to come here. at least once, you have to taste the juicy deliciousness

Leave a Reply

